Sykia the village
The Sykia is the largest and one of the finest and oldest villages in Sithonia.
The settlement has existed since the 14th century., Called Longos and was established in the district called "kapetanikio aprotic". Later the whole village and surrounding area with fertile land was Athonite dependency. The people of Sykia were renowned warriors and unruly people and participated in all the revolutions that took place in Halkidiki, against the Turks.
The present name derives from a large fig tree that stood outside the village, or another version that is built in the shadow of Mount Athos.
The village has managed so far to keep fairly well the traditional architectural character and people of Sykia remained unruly and very hospitable people and maintained their own dialect and very unique dances. It has a nice, small, narrow streets lined with well-kept houses with verandas and terraces.
In the northern hill of the village stands the imposing stone church of Agios Athanasios, built in 1814, destroyed in 1854 (the Macedonian chieftain Tsamis Karataso, who ruled in the church Turks, which he ruled until then Sykia, and burned ) and rebuilt in 1856.
Next to the temple and on the central hill lies the magnificent old primary school of the village with its stone columns, built in 1870.
The village is about 2 km from the main road to the mainland.
In the surrounding area there are wonderful beaches, including beach of Sykia and around the beautiful small beaches as well, the Linaraki the Tourkolimano the Klimataria and on the opposite side of the Griava and Valti.